Chasing Rarities in Florida

Broad-billed Hummingbird

Broad-billed Hummingbird

 

There are avid birders who are dedicated chasers, scanning e-Bird and other internet sites daily in hopes of finding the unexpected rarity, possibly blown into a new territory during migration, or just confused, or possibly exerting some bird independence and desire to “see the world”.  There are definitive definitions for a “rarity”, but I believe this a relative term determined separately for each birder by their level of experience and individual life list.  When I was a novice I remember getting excited about a “new” bird almost daily while other birders passed over the same bird with nary a glance.  But as one’s life list expands and the new sightings become less frequent it’s only natural to start chasing.

Broad-billed Hummingbird

Broad-billed Hummingbird, Freedom Park, Naples, FL

Hummingbirds other than Ruby-throateds are a rarity in the East, so I was excited when e-Bird announced a Broad-billed in Freedom Park Naples, Florida, five miles from my home.  The bird had been seen for several days and the alert described the exact location “just off the path, next to the restroom, on the flowering shrub”.  It could have said, “just look for the numerous anxious birders standing next to the bush with binoculars and cameras at the ready”.  I’m always surprised when the bird shows up, right as advertised.  My only regret was the lighting and photos were not perfect, but this was a successful chase.

IMG_3968

Florida Scrub Jay

The Florida Scrub Jay is an endangered bird, but not necessarily a true rarity in it’s ever shrinking territory in Florida.  It prefers the sandy soil and Slash Pines of the central and eastern part of the state which required some traveling for me.  The Lyonia Preserve in Deltona, Volusia County near Interstate 95 is one of the best places to find this bird and I was excited to schedule a stop there on our annual spring drive home.  We are “snow birds”. Even the light rain would not deter me from looking for this rarity as my spouse slept patiently in the car.  Amazed again, it appeared in the pines less than a quarter mile from the trail-head. I decided to play its call on my I-phone in hopes of getting a closer photo.  As I watched through the optical finder the bird took off and surprised me by landing on my head!  That accounts for the photo below as I twisted the camera for the documenting shot. After the jay flew away I put the hat on the ground, thinking that was the attraction, set up the perfect shot and lighting angle, and replayed the call.  The jay returned, but this time landed on my bare head.  Enough of this.  I don’t think anyone would believe this story if I didn’t have the hat shot.  I’ve since learned that this is a common behavior for this overly friendly and endangered bird.

IMG_4925

My lucky hat shot.

Chasing rarities is occasionally a “wild goose chase”.  It took me several visits to the Babcock Webb Wildlife Management Area  near Punta Gorda before I sighted a Red-cockaded Woodpecker, another threatened bird. If you go there look for a cavity in the tall long-leafed pines and the fresh dripping sap from the woodpecker holes, making the trees look like a giant waxy candle.   That’s where the birds hang out.  Sorry, I didn’t get a good photo of this rarity, but submit this other shot of a non-rarity woodpecker from S. Florida.

Red-bellied Woodpecker

Red-bellied Woodpecker

E-bird got me and a birding companion excited again with a sighting of Fulvous Whistling Ducks and a Cinnamon Teal in a flooded field waiting for drainage and planting, about 25 miles inland from our coastal home.  We had just arrived and set up our scopes along the road when a white van pulled over and a large man with more gold in his teeth than I’ve ever seen walked over to check us out.  He skeptically looked at the field when I told him I was watching birds, but was truly amazed and pleased when I showed him the wading birds through the scope.  I think we may have created a new birder.  The only down-side of his visit was the strong odor of his after-shave that lingered on my scope the rest of the day.  Note-to-self:  use that product sparingly.

Black-bellied Whistling Duck

Black-bellied Whistling Ducks

Right after he pulled away a Collier County Sheriff’s car pulled up and the officer strolled over to also check us out.  We were relieved when he said, “don’t worry boys, I’m just on break and need to stretch.”  It was his accent that was rare–the most classic Queen’s, New York speech you’ve ever heard in S. Florida.  He’d had enough of New York and had moved to paradise a few years earlier. He spent 30 minutes of his break with us talking NY Giant football, election politics, but there was little birding conversation.  I snuck that shot of the Northern Harrier below, between police stories.

Northern Harrier

Northern Harrier

As for the bird rarities there, we never saw the Cinnamon Teal–the photo below was taken in Arizona.  What we originally thought were Fulvous Whistling Ducks turned out to be juvenile Black-bellied, which became clear once we saw the parent with the prominent orange bill.  The true rarities of this trip were the two Homo sapiens visitors.

IMG_2223

Cinnamon Teal

Bunche Beach on San Carlos Bay in Lee County is a historic spot, but not just for the birding.  It is appropriately named for Dr. Ralph Bunche, the first African American to win the Nobel Peace Price.  In 1949 the Black community purchased a half acre of the beach which became the only beach available for people of color in all of S. Florida at the time.  Thankfully we have come a long way since then.

Marbled Godwit, photo by A. Sternick at Bunche Beach

Marbled Godwit, photo by A. Sternick at Bunche Beach

Greater Flamingo, photo by A. Sternick at Bunche Beach

Greater Flamingo, photo by A. Sternick at Bunche Beach

We were responding to an e-Bird alert alert regarding a Greater Flamingo, Long-billed Curlew, and Marbled Godwit sightings at the beach when 5 of us set out on the 50 mile drive to the north. Two of our party had recently seen and photographed these birds at Bunche Beach and were anxious for us to share their success. Chaser’s win some and lose some.  I did see the Godwit with a scope, maybe a quarter mile off-shore on a sandbar, but it was not a satisfying sighting and problematic whether it should even be listed. I did however get some one of my best pictures of Semipalmated and Piping Plovers in the same frame.

Semipalmated & Piping Plovers

Semipalmated & Piping Plovers

As you may know the ABA has codified the relative rarity of birds into six codes starting at “Common” and ending with “Probably or Definitely Extinct”.  In the spirit of this I submit these six progressive codes for the birders who pursue rarities.

Code 1:  Will leave favorite TV show to run to the window to view a bird at the feeder, not previously seen in the current year.

Code 2:  Will check out a “new” bird in the yard or in the neighbor’s yard if it’s easily seen over the fence, as long as its over 55 degrees and you’re not eating dinner.

Code 3:  Will chase an e-Bird rarity anywhere in the county if it’s not on your life-list or previously seen in the last year.

Code 4:  As above, but the territory is expanded to the entire state.

Code 5:  Will leave work or home and go anywhere at anytime to chase a rarity in the lower 48 states, and try to rationalize behavior to boss or spouse later.

Code 6:  Will chase a rarity anywhere on the continent as soon as you find a new job and the divorce settlement comes through.

8 thoughts on “Chasing Rarities in Florida

  1. The Codes are funny. We have telephone alerts in our area. They come daily, some birds are rare and many birders go on the hunt. Me, not so much. I prefer to hunt for my birds in a quiet, calm way, not rushing to a location where it might be. You are so right, it is all relative. When new, I too thought every bird was a miracle, now birds I thought were great to see like even eagles, I just kinda ho-hum the moment. Eagles are in our area often in the last two years so they lost their appeal for me. You have many beautiful birds in your post, some I have yet to see.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right. The chase can become hectic. I’ve even seen pushing and shoving to get the best shot of the rarity. My chases are generally more calm. Thanks for your insight and interest.

      Like

  2. Enjoyed your code list, but I was particularly entertained about the scrub jay. What a fantastic experience! I too have been tricked by the juvie black-bellies, thinking them them to be fulvous, and this species is a yardbird for us. So many birds, so little time. Your photos are stunning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

