Cardinal Etheree

IMG_8610

Etheree is a form of poetry named for the American poet Etheree Taylor Armstrong.  It is composed by using 10 non-rhymed lines, the first with one syllable, the second with two, the third three, etc. up to 10 syllables in the 10th line.  I came across the form at Somali K. Chakraburti’s blog, www.prepforum.wordpress.com where she posted his beautiful example called “Elusive Happiness”.

A

whiff of

sweet fragrance

wafting through air,

crisp ray of sunshine

in a misty morning that

vanishes as soon as it

appears;  Elusive happiness

finds us and fades away as we seek

it frantically at each turn along the way.

IMG_3861

So I thought I would give this art form a try with “A Cardinal”.

A

Cardinal

flits across

my morning path

capturing sunshine

in its scarlet feathers.

The temporary pleasure

brings contentment to this birder

as he begins another solo

trek to the swamp and future feathered joys.

Northern Cardinal 2173

Okay, I get it.  I’ll stick to prose and photography and let S.K. Chakraburti and others compose etheree.  But I encourage you to try it for yourself.  It’s fun.  Feel free to submit your own creations in the “Comments” section.

IMG_7079

12 thoughts on “Cardinal Etheree

  1. I
    welcome
    Stephen’s blogs
    whenever they
    appear, enriching
    our lives and giving us
    armchair birders reminders
    of the joys of seeing feathered
    friends of our past and also newbies
    even if for us it’s just secondhand.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I
    avoid
    poetry
    religiously
    particularly
    avian inspired flights of creativity
    unless of course I can come up with
    a crested caracara allusion

    Like

  3. I
    avoid
    poetry
    religiously
    particularly
    all avian inspired
    flights of creativity
    now my inviolable rule
    unless of course I can come up with
    a crested caracara allusion

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m not a poet for sure, so not going to try, lol. But I have to comment on your photos. The Northern Cardinal is one of my favorite birds, and your captures are beautiful. I especially love the last female shot, the background coloring with her is gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

